RSS Feed

Weekend Wrap-Up

Well, this past weekend, at Big G’s football game, I officially got my first sunburn of the year. It’s only April,for goodness sakes. Apparently, I am just too much of a northerner (or too much of a yankee, as they tell me down here) to live in the South. I love and miss winters in the north. What they call winter down here is a crisp fall day back home. And yes, my A/C is already on. This, of course, is quite an annoyance to my cold-blooded, sun-loving husband. So, he stays busy with outdoor projects while I attempt to convert our house into the only igloo in the neighborhood. Such is the life of a yankee inthe South.

Aside from the sunburn acquired at Big G’s game, we also lost. Perhaps lost isn’t quite the word. Pulvarized seems more adequate. G was quite disappointed, but he is back at practice today, trying to keep up his own spirits, as well as those of his teammates. They seem to be recovering pretty well.

The one great thing that came out of the weekend is our decision to finally join one of the small groups at our church. We walked in to church Sunday morning and were approached by one of our friends, with a flyer, inviting us that day. I am a planner. I don’t necessarily like spur-of-the-moment activities, and rarely accept them. However, this time, for whatever reason, we decided to accept. So the boys and I ended up spending an absolutely wonderful evening with some fantastic church members. Some of them I knew, but many I did not (having moved here a short time ago, and only having been attending the church for a couple of months.) It was truly the first time in a long time that I felt like I was a real part of a church family. And to see my boys playing with other kind, Christ-loving children was such a blessing. Once again, the Lord knew exactly what we needed, when we needed it. It was the perfect ending to an otherwise less than perfect weekend. Praise God.

Leave a Reply

