RSS Feed

Weekly Wrap-Up – Jan. 17

We had a very good, though relatively uneventful week, which may be why I am finally able to do my wrap-up on time this week. 🙂

In Our Homeschool

We are on our second week of using TRISMS, which definitely changed our daily routine, but the boys have settled into it quite well. Next week, we will be back in full force on their other subjects, since the boys now know what is expected with TRISMS , and it won’t take as long to complete assignments. Our Apologia and Life of Fred Curricula have remained the same, so it’s just a matter of easing back in to the workload.

boys_research

We are still working through the Mere Christianity Critical Analysis Journal as our Bible study. I really cannot say enough good things about this journal. The boys are really learning to examine and defend their own beliefs. The depth of their understanding and convictions is pretty amazing. This is the first thing we have used as any kind of Bible study of which they have consistently asked for more. I could not be happier.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Extracurriculars

Little M is preparing for his next piano recital, which is scheduled for the end of February. Having only taken lessons for a matter of months, he has chosen a rather difficult piece, but his teacher recognizes his gift and really pushes him to excel. I am so grateful that we have found such a wonderful teacher for him. (I would share the song he chose, but I am waiting til next week to upload a video instead!)

Big G is gearing up for football sign-ups, which are also next month. He is training very hard in order to improve his stamina and skills. The spring season will be his last of flag football, and then in the summer he will start training for fall tackle football. I honestly thought I would be more of a basket case about the tackle football, and I may still be so once I see some of the other (perhaps bigger) players. He isn’t nervous at all, though. He is ready to take on the world.

Coming Soon On the Blog

Tomorrow I will be posting a review for The New Answers Book 4 by Answers In Genesis. Next week I will be getting a new product for my next review for The Old Schoolhouse Review Crew. It is for Mango Languages, an interactive foreign language program. My review for that should be going up at the end of February, but I will try to post snippets of our experience here and there. And lastly, next week on the blog I will be joining other members of The Old Schoolhouse Review Crew, as we share a week of our Homeschool Essentials. I hope you will stop by to read about the essentials in our homeschool, as well as those of my fellow crew mates.

I hope you all had a blessed week and have a great weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

