RSS Feed

Daily Archives: January 31, 2014

Weekly Wrap-Up – Jan. 31

wrapup_jan31_2014We are wrapping up our week, and the month as well. Wow, is time flying! This final week of January definitely proved to be an odd one. It snowed this week, which, in the south, means that entire cities shut down and everyone goes into a state of panic. Being northerners, we didn’t see the big deal. But, at least the boys got to play a bit in the snow before it melted the very next day. The biggest “happening” around here, though, wasn’t the snow. It was my oldest son’s 12th birthday. I don’t know how exactly he managed to reach that age so quickly. Although I want to keep him a boy forever, I am one proud mama of the man he is becoming. 🙂

In Our Homeschool

While school was cancelled for public school children, we still managed to get some schoolwork done, other than the one day off for Big G’s birthday. This week we finished up our study of Ancient Greece. We are continuing to use the Trisms curriculum, and supplement with various documentaries, notebooking pages, and some excellent resources found on Pinterest. I have created a Pinterest board for Ancient Greece, which you can find HERE. Inspired by one documentary that we watched on Greek architecture, the boys made a Lego Parthenon (how cute is that?).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next week, as we move on to studying Rome, the boys are already making plans for using Minecraft to construct the colosseum. I can’t wait to see their creations.

Coming Up On the Blog

Monday I will be posting my review for the book, Six Days, by Ken Ham. I have been SO blessed by this book, as I hope some of you will be. This review also comes as a perfect time, since the debate between Ken Ham and Bill Nye (the science guy) will be happening on Tuesday. For those interested, and I hope you are, please go to debatelive.org to listen in on this debate.

The next review product to watch for is perfect for Valentine’s Day. It is a book called The Marriage You Always Wanted, by Dr. Gary Chapman. This review will also include a giveaway for a copy of the book, so don’t miss your chance to enter that!

Also coming in the next few weeks, I will be posting reviews for some great curricula and resources, as part of The Old Schoolhouse Review Crew. Some of the companies whose items will be reviewing soon are Mango Languages, Motivated Moms, and scienceandmath.com, so if you’ve been looking into any of those companies, you won’t want to miss those reviews! I am so excited to share our experiences with all of you.