RSS Feed

Blogging Through The Alphabet ~ A is for Apply

I am happy to join in this round of the Blogging Through the Alphabet series, hosted by the fantastic blog, Ben and Me.

Ben and Me

After considering a few different directions in which I could go for this series, I finally decided to go to the Bible, and choose a word each week that I feel that God has put on my heart. This week’s word is Apply.

Often times, when we listen to a sermon or read the Scriptures, we ask ourselves, “How can I apply this to my life?” On the contrary, what we should try to remember to always ask ourselves is, “How can I apply my life to this?” The former question puts us at the focal point, while the latter points us always to our Savior. Our lives may change, but God is everlasting and unchanging in his love and wisdom. So, we should not be concerned with conforming his Word to our lives, but rather conforming our lives to the wisdom of his Word.

Apply

 

“So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom.” ~Psalm 90:12

“So that thou incline thine ear unto wisdom, and apply thine heart to understanding.” ~Proverbs 2:2

“Bow down thine ear, and hear the words of the wise, and apply thine heart unto my knowledge. For it is a pleasant thing if thou keep them within thee; they shall withal be fitted in thy lips.That thy trust may be in the Lord, I have made known to thee this day, even to thee.” ~Proverbs 22:17-19

 

One response »

  1. Our kids had little ABC flash cards with Scripture – very nice post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

